top of page


Emerging Women Writers_logo.png

Who can submit an article?

Any woman who aspires to be, or is at present a journalist, writer, author, broadcaster or podcaster who is not yet established as a writer.  

What are the submission rules?

Writers should submit an original, previously unpublished, long-form article of between 3,000 and 5,000 words on any topic relevant to their interest in football.

What type of article should I write?

That is up to you. It may be an interview or profile of an individual or individuals, a club story, a short history of a club or an event, a dive into a football politics issue, a work of fiction, commentary, analysis, an investigative piece, a poem, or a first-person story.

What happens with my entry?

If your article is selected, it may be included in our anthology: Hear Us Roar – An anthology of stories from women in football. We will select up to 20 articles for publication, to be launched at our 2023 Football Writers Festival.

If my entry is selected, do I get paid?

Yes, the writers whose submissions are selected for publication will each be paid AUD$200.

How are the three women writers chosen to travel to and attend the Football Writers' Festival?

From amongst the published entries, the judging panel will choose up to three writers to be invited to attend our 2023 Football Writers' Festival. We will cover the costs of a return economy airfare, attendance at the Festival, and up to five nights accommodation in Sydney. 

If I am one of the writers chosen to travel, what will my role be at the Festival?

The writers selected to attend the Festival will appear on a panel alongside our existing authors and journalists to discuss the article they wrote. 

How do I submit my entry?

Via the form on this website or email to

What is the closing date?

All entries must be received by midnight Australian Eastern Daylight Savings Time (AEDT) on Friday 27th January 2023. 

When will we know if our submission will be included in 20 published articles, or if we are one of the chosen writers to travel to Sydney?

The writers to be published along with those chosen to travel to Sydney will be announced in the week commencing Monday 15th May 2023.

Who is on the judging panel?

Experienced authors, journalists, broadcasters, editors, investigators, researchers and publishers from around the world.:

Stephanie Brantz, Australia; Nick Harris, Scotland; Inas Mazhar, Egypt; Bonita Mersiades, Australia; Marcela Mora y Araujo, Argentina; Osasu Obayiuwana, Nigeria; Laura Williamson, England

Is there any additional information I will need to know?

Yes. Please see the Terms and Conditions linked below.

If you still have additional questions, please email us here

bottom of page